Why We Are Failing… in Education?

According to the latest survey (published: Wednesday 8 December 2004) by the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) (http://www.pisa.oecd.org), top European Union countries outperform US in education.

Finland, the top performer in the last PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment) study, has managed to further improve its scores. The 2003 study, which tests learning skills among 15-year-olds in 41 countries, has put the country ahead of the top-ranking Asian schools systems in Hong Kong, Japan and Korea. (http://www.euractiv.com/en/education/top-eu-countries-outperform-us-education-survey/article-133197).

Project

Based on these reports, I want to find out for myself why and how these countries outperform other countries in education.

Starting June 1, 2008 – September 18, 2009, I am going to travel throughout the US, Canada, Germany, France, UK, France, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Russia, Portugal, Italy, China, India, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Brunei, Dubai, Israel, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Australia, Brazil, Cuba, and Spain.

The purpose of this journey is to talk to real people, parents, students, both elementary, secondary, and college students, teachers, academia professors, non-governmental agency directors, and education ministers and will publish a journal based on my findings.

I will need a group of two college students and two academia professors to go on this journey with me to complete this assignment. This project will last for approximately 12 months, spending one or two weeks in each country. So, be prepared to be available from whatever you’re currently doing for at least a year for this project.

Production

We will have a television production crew to document this project for television documentary.

Compensation

I will finance the project myself. All involved parties will be compensated US$150,000 per each person payable in equal monthly installment, with all the travel and board expenses paid in full by me.

If you’re a college student and or college professor and that you’re a good writer and want to be part of this project, contact me ASAP with your resume, one-page personal statement, and one essay (three-page minimum) related to the subject matter.

Candidates

I am going to be very selective in terms of who’s going to be part of this project; determinant factors will include professional experience, personal integrity, reliability, determination, and most importantly, personality.

About

This project and more crazy projects that I may do between now and Winter 2009 are part of my 2009 admission application for my MBA at Harvard Business School.

Please wish me luck; I hope I get in, because this is my dream business school.

One thought on “Why We Are Failing… in Education?

Leave a Reply

